Milestone

Yesterday I hit my first milestone.  Since I started this a few weeks ago, I’ve done the walk-walkfaster-jog-walk thing.  I’ve been “training” by using the runkeeper app on my phone that has a 5K training program.  I’ve also got an app for couch to 5K.  The truth is, over the last few weeks, I’ve grown to dislike both of these training programs.  I don’t think I like the pressure.  I think I do better just going.  Just doing.  No rules. 

The runkeeper 5K program and the Couch to 5K app are both very structured and anyone who knows me would agree that I need structure, but for some reason I think the structure slows me down or holds me back.

Yesterday, for the first time since starting the “training”, when I took off, I didn’t use the training.  I just took off.  Little did I know, I would hit a milestone!!!

It all started off uneventful.  I had one of those days where I was just feeling all down in the dumps for no reason in particular and my husband told me that I would feel better after I ran it off.  I knew he would be right.

I walked the first 5 minutes like I normally would and then did the whole walkfaster-jog-walk thing, but then I came to the “home stretch”.  The last straight away for me to get home.  I didn’t really know how far it was, but it was at least a few tenths of a mile.  I decided that when I rounded the corner I was going to jog and not stop unless I literally fell over.

I never stopped.  I didn’t stop until I ran into my husband’s arms because he was standing in the driveway.  I was crying.  For the first time in probably my entire lifetime, I ran for what I would later learn was an entire half a damn mile without stopping.  If I hadn’t been so emotional and so worked up, I probably wouldn’t have been so winded.  I might have been able to run more if I wasn’t already home.

Now, I didn’t sprint and my average speed wasn’t very fast – an olympic speed walker would surely beat me in a race, but for me, this is a big deal.  I accomplished something.  I hit a milestone WITHOUT QUITTING.

Now, for your viewing pleasure, this post wouldin’t be complete without a screenshot from last nights run.  With some edits from paint. 
First Half Mile

  •  Yes, I am not smiling in my self portrait.  Even though I’m totally excited about reaching a milestone, I still don’t like running.
  • Those aren’t earings.  It’s ear sweat.
  • Each line represents .10 of a mile.
  • Who knew that Paint had a “crayon” brush now?
This entry was posted in Run Jenn Run and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Milestone

  1. mCat says:

    I’m STILL on an adrenaline high for you!

Leave a comment